CooCoo Kudos

You might not know this about me, but I have friends. Don’t ask me how I acquire them; one minute I’m being my veritable anti-social, quirky self and the next minute I have lifelong consorts. One such friend likes to repeatedly tell the story about how she had to stalk me before I would be her friend. I personally don’t remember that happening, but who knows, I’m not always the most observant when it comes to social cues.

What is true, however, is that a lot of the people that I have met along this crazy road of life are not your normal run of the mill people, but are exceptionally talented and/or driven. I don’t know why it is that I seem to fall into line with more artsy, conceptual type people but it kind of boggles my mind. I for one have no real artistic talent at all. You’re lucky if I color inside the lines; in fact, I prefer not to. I’m more of an analytical thinker. You give me your idea and I’ll break it down for you in 10 seconds or less. Give me a problem, I’ll think of the solution. Give me a pen, I’ll give you content. Give me a blank canvas, I’ll probably give you a blank canvas with a smiley face cut through it.

My favorite of these artsy types are the graphic designers. I don’t know why I find them so entertaining, especially with their silly Typeface snobbery (they’re actually kind of cute when they get really heated about Algerian, Comic Sans and other fonts that sound like an alien language to us laymen, but I digress).

One very such artist that I absolutely adore has recently started her own stationary press company called Bunny Blue Press (www.bunnybluepress.com) based out of Seattle, Washington. She has no idea that I’m tooting her horn, but if you’re a fool for note writing or in the market for some unique invitations you should check out her work.

My second ‘Shout Out’ goes to a friend and colleague, who has gone on to more exciting ventures besides being my next-door desk buddy. He actually made this awesome background for me on the fly one day and was an amazing lunchtime sounding board for many of my random thoughts and ideas. I meant to send this out back when I first began this blog, but time passes too quickly. I only hope for him the best in his new pursuits. (www.alanbettes.com)

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Check It Out and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment